GHIBLI CHALLENGE DAY 2: HOW YOU DISCOVERED GHIBLI FILMS

“They say that the best blaze burns brightest when circumstances are at their worst.” – Sophie, Howl’s Moving Castle

2.png

In year 8 history we did feudal Japan as a unit to study for a term. At the end of the term we had a week left of nothing after our assessment was already handed in, so my teacher let us choose between watching Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle. And that was my first experience with Ghibli films!


Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 11.22.59 am
Day 1: First Ghibli Film

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 1.11.18 pm

Author: thespookyredhead

Come for the pop culture. Stay for the bad grammar.

47 thoughts on “GHIBLI CHALLENGE DAY 2: HOW YOU DISCOVERED GHIBLI FILMS”

  1. As memory serves, I was somewhere in the first half of my high school years, I was looking for something in the rental area of the local supermarket (yes, this was that long ago, when supermarkets had rental areas, and I spent so much time there), saw Princess Mononoke, picked it up. Knew nothing about it or Ghibli before that. Got my own DVD of it for Christmas, I think. Been a fan ever since. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow 😮 that’s quite a way to be introduced to it!
    I think for me, I was simply bored and was searching up films to watch and Totoro and Mononoke popped up. So obviously I went and watched both. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow… romcoms? That’s definitely an interesting choice to show!
      Yeah it is pretty cool! 🙂 My teacher said that he could justify showing us a Ghibli film because it’s a Japanese studio, and we were studying feudal Japan that term hahah

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember the first time I saw Spirited Away, (My first Ghibli film) it was on Cartoon Network. They were doing some kind of Hayao Miyazaki week and one of the commercials kept talking about the movie and I decided I had to see it. I did. It was the first time I realized what cartoons could do

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment